Skip to content

DAY 2: Still Broke and in Pajamas

November 27, 2010

It is the day after the ribs, I am still sitting on the couch. I have barely eaten a thing. I haven’t left the house at all and its 6:30 pm. I’m thinking about what i am going to make for dinner, because I have to make dinner! I am growing up, leaving my bad habits behind, trying to get in the habit of eating regular meals. (Meals I made myself even!)  Normally, I would pull up the yummy web site and order myself a delicious pizza, or perhaps some cheap sushi. BUT NOT ANYMORE DAMMIT!

Sean was about to start watching the hockey game. It was the perfect moment for me to think about what I could create with what i have in the house. So, instead of ordering pizza, I decided I would make pizza. I’m not talking a classic pepperoni and cheese here people, (I didn’t have pepperoni anyway). I wanted to make a pizza I had been dreaming of for some time…..Breakfast Pizza!!

I got it from one of my very favourite blogs, http://smittenkitchen.com

Breakfast Pizza adapted from Smitten Kitchen (dot com)

Pizza Dough

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 tb olive oil

I start off by activating my yeast! Add yeast to lukewarm water in a bowl and let it froth for 10-12 minutes. Once it has gotten all murky and cloudy pour it into a bowl that you have added the flour, and salt to and then also mix in the olive oil. Stir the mixture up until it is well incorporated and dump it out onto a floured surface. It’s going to be a bit sticky and little bits are going to fall out on there own, stick them to the ball of dough as best as you can. Knead the dough until its quite smooth. Oil a bowl and place the ball of dough in the bowl with a light dribbling of olive oil. Cover bowl with plastic wrap. Leave it for an hour or more. You can leave it over night if you need to.

When the dough has doubled in size dump it back out onto a floured surface and press out all the air bubbles. Form it into a ball again and leave on surface for another 20 minutes covered with plastic wrap once again.

Sprinkle your pizza stone or baking sheet with cornmeal. Roll out dough (not too thin!) place it on top of baking surface.

Toppings for Breakfast pizza

  • A few strips of bacon
  • A variety of cheeses, I used about a 1/2 cup pecorino, 1/3 cup gruyere, 1/3 old cheddar (just what i had in the fridge)
  • 4 eggs
  • a green onion or 2
  • a finely chopped shallot
  • salt and pepper!

Preheat oven to 500 F. Cook the bacon in a skillet until crispy. Place on a paper towel covered dish to dry out a bit. When cooled off, coarsely chop. Add cheeses to the dough. I started with pecorino, then added the rest. Scatter the bacon and the shallots on top of the cheese. Crack eggs right onto the surface of the pizza.

Spread them out evenly, depending on how big you made your pizza, you can add less eggs or more. Sprinkle with a bit of salt and a grinding of black pepper. Slide that baby in the oven and it should be done in about 10 minutes. Afterwards,  I tossed some chopped green onions on the top and thought that it was pretty much perfect, but you could also add chives, or parsley.

 

OH MAN I NEED SOME NEW PLATES

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

