Skip to content

Men and Ribs

November 27, 2010
tags: , ,
by

 

An empty bank account  is not an unusual obstacle in my life. Don’t feel sorry for me, I am a young starving artist (ugh, i just barfed a little) it’s to be expected isn’t it? There are times in my life when i am totally broke, but i see it as a learning experience, and a time in which to grow. These are the most difficult moments when I can appreciate all that I have a little bit more. This week was one of those weeks. However, after counting my pennies, so to speak, (actually it was quarters, dimes, and nickels) I found I did have a little bit of money left to buy some groceries for a couple days, just enough to get me through until my next paycheque. PHEW!

After my boyfriend Sean deposited the coins I rolled into my bank account while i was at work, I was left to make some serious decisions. How would I spend the last little bit of money I had in the world? Of course I went all out! I bought some pork ribs, 2 bottles of wine, and a sack full of vegetables in the market from where I work.

I had been thinking about this recipe for a few weeks. I got it out of my favourite of the cookbooks that I own, The Kitchen Diaries, by Nigel Slater. Although I tweaked it slightly.

Pork Ribs with Honey and Anise                                                                                                                                                                                    adapted from Nigel Slater’s The Kitchen Diaries

  • 6 Tb Honey
  • 3 Tb Oyster Sauce
  • 4 Cloves of Garlic coarsely chopped
  • 4 whole star anise
  • 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1.5 lb Pork Ribs
  • A glug of dark beer (not required, this was a last minute addition to the marinade by Sean)

Marinate the ribs in a roasting pan or baking dish. To make the marinade pour honey and oyster sauce onto your ribs. Add your chopped garlic, whole star anise, and salt (I used pink himalayan crystal salt) and grind pepper on top. Toss the ribs around a bit to coat them completely. Marinate for at least one whole hour. Preheat the oven to 400 F.

Roast Ribs for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Check them often to make sure they aren’t burning. I had to turn the oven down a bit because the sauces were starting to bubble and boy-oh-boy did i have to scrub my dish to get that sticky stuff off. They are done when the meat is nice and tender.

I ended up serving this dish with rice (which i added two cloves of garlic and a knob of peeled ginger to while it was boiling), a rocket salad with pears and fennel and a fresh oil and lime juice dressing, and some sauteed green beans with garlic.

I had one more day to go before pay day, but I felt rich!

Stickily satisfying these ribs were, and I couldn’t hear the end of it from Sean. He loved every minute of them, and was vocal about it the entire time, oohing and awing ! Yep, i felt prrrreetttyyy good about myself. PRETTY PRETTY PREEEETTYY good.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

